Upcoming Events

May 2019
week 18 1 2 3 4
week 19 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
week 20 12 13 14 15 16 17 18
week 21 19 20 21 22 23 24 25
week 22 26 27 28 29 30 31
No events

Bargaining Unit Council

The Bargaining Unit Council (BUC) is comprised of the members of the Bargaining Unit Executive, the Branch Presidents elected in each secondary school, a School of Alternate Education Representative elected by the members in the School of Alternate Education (which includes the 6 AETC worksites, the VLC and the Section 23 schools), and a representative of the Occasional Teachers chosen by the Occasional Teacher members in the Bargaining Unit.

The BUC meets a minimum of five (5) times per year. A number of meetings can be held electronically through video and phone conferencing.

The BUC directs the work of the Bargaining Unit. The Council may establish interim policies which shall form an appendix to the constitution. All interim policies must be approved by the Bargaining Unit Assembly at the Annual General Meeting.

The members of the 2017-2018 Teachers'/Occasional Teachers' Bargaining Unit Council and their term of office are as follows:

  • Kristy Gordon (LCVI), Chairperson (non-voting)

(The position of Chairperson is appointed annually by the Bargaining Unit Council.)

The Executive:

  • Colin Matthew (IEWSS), President
  • Louis Tusz (HHS), Vice President
  • Sharon Robbins (LCVI), Vice President
  • Secretary - currently vacant
  • Justin Boyd (IEWSS), Treasurer
  • John Mazara (HHSS), Federation Officer (non-voting)

(The Executive, with the exception of the Federation Officer, is elected in even numbered years at the Annual General Meeting.  The current Executive was elected in June 2016, with a term of July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2018.  The position of Federation Officer is appointed in odd numbered years by the Bargaining Unit Council.  The current term is July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2019.)

Branch Presidents:

  • Jon Rae, Bracebridge & Muskoka Lakes Secondary School
  • Diane Kelly, Fenelon Falls Secondary School
  • Craig Horsley, Gravenhurst High School
  • Ron Zondervan, Haliburton Highlands Secondary School
  • Dave Scott, Huntsville High School
  • Erin Matthew, I. E. Weldon Secondary School
  • Mike Arthurs, Lindsay Collegiate & Vocational Institute
  • Kelly Connell (Lindsay AETC), School of Alternate Education

(Branch Presidents are elected annually by members in each school.)

  • Occasional Teachers' Representative - currently vacant

(The Occasional Teachers Representative is elected annually by the Occasional Teacher members of the Bargaining Unit.)

OSSTF Worksite Representatives for 2017-2018 (appointed by the BUC):

  • AETC Bracebridge - 
  • AETC Fenelon Falls - 
  • AETC Gravenhurst - 
  • AETC Haliburton - 
  • AETC Huntsville - 
  • AETC Lindsay - 
  • Bracebridge Board Office - 
  • Lindsay Board Office - 
  • Federation Office - Colin Matthew
  • Central East Detention Centre -