Bargaining Unit Council

The Bargaining Unit Council (BUC) is comprised of the members of the Bargaining Unit Executive, the Branch Presidents elected in each secondary school, a School of Alternate Education Representative elected by the members in the School of Alternate Education (which includes the 6 AETC worksites, the VLC and the Section 23 schools), and a representative of the Occasional Teachers chosen by the Occasional Teacher members in the Bargaining Unit.

The BUC meets a minimum of five (5) times per year. A number of meetings can be held electronically through video and phone conferencing.

The BUC directs the work of the Bargaining Unit. The Council may establish interim policies which shall form an appendix to the constitution. All interim policies must be approved by the Bargaining Unit Assembly at the Annual General Meeting.

The members of the 2017-2018 Teachers'/Occasional Teachers' Bargaining Unit Council and their term of office are as follows:

(The position of Chairperson is appointed annually by the Bargaining Unit Council.)

The Executive:

(The Executive, with the exception of the Federation Officer, is elected in even numbered years at the Annual General Meeting.  The current Executive was elected in June 2016, with a term of July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2018.  The position of Federation Officer is appointed in odd numbered years by the Bargaining Unit Council.  The current term is July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2019.)

Branch Presidents:

(Branch Presidents are elected annually by members in each school.)

(The Occasional Teachers Representative is elected annually by the Occasional Teacher members of the Bargaining Unit.)

OSSTF Worksite Representatives for 2017-2018 (appointed by the BUC):

  • ask-osstf
  • collective-bargaining-bulletin
  • keep-calm-call-your-union
  • no cuts
  • otip-raeo
  • violence-in-the-workplace banner